Nomination and Remuneration Committee

Nomination and Remuneration Committee 2017-04-19T15:07:08+00:00

The Nomination and Remuneration Committee (‘NRC’) set up by the Board is entrusted with combined advisory responsibilities concerning the nomination for appointment, reappointment or dismissal of directors and members of the Executive Committee and the remuneration policies and the individual remuneration of the directors and the members of the Executive Committee.

Jo Cornu, Chairman of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee – Permanent representative of Mercodi BVBA
Michel Akkermans, Member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee
Viviane Reding, Director of companies (independent director)

Jo Cornu

(°1944 – Belgian) graduated as an engineer specializing in electrotechnology and mechanics from the Catholic University of Louvain (Belgium) and later obtained a PhD in electronics from the Carlton University in Ottawa (Canada). Jo Cornu was CEO of Mietec from 1982 to 1984 and later General Manager for Bell Telephone until 1987. From 1988 to 1995 he was member of the Executive Board of Alcatel NV and from 1995 to 1999 he was COO for Alcatel Telecom. Later he became an advisor to the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Alcatel. From 2005 to 2007, Jo Cornu was Chairman of the ISTAG Group (Information Society Technologies Advisory Group) of the European Commission. From the beginning of March 2007 to the end of January 2008, he was Chairman of Medea +, the Eureka Cluster for micro electronics research in Europe. From December 2012 until November 2013, he was chairman of the Board of Directors of Electrawinds SE. Since November 2013 he is CEO of the NMBS, the National Belgian Railway Company.

Jo Cornu joined the Agfa-Gevaert Board of Directors in 2002. At the end of November 2007, Jo Cornu was appointed CEO of Agfa-Gevaert. He resigned as CEO as from May 1, 2010. On April 27, 2010, he was reappointed as Director.

Michel Akkermans

(°1960 – Belgian) holds a master of sciences in electronic engineering and computer sciences and a degree in economics and finance from the Catholic University of Louvain (Belgium). He held management positions in a series of international banks and consulting companies before founding FICS, a leading software provider in the field of online banking and regulatory financial reporting, in 1989. In 1999, FICS, together with Edify and Vertical One, merged with Security First Technologies, creating S1 Corporation, the market leader in internet banking, with Michel Akkermans as its Chairman. In 2002, Michel Akkermans became Chairman and CEO of Clear2Pay, an innovative e-finance company focused on delivering globally applicable solutions for secure electronic payments.

Michel Akkermans joined the Agfa-Gevaert Board of Directors in 2008.

Viviane Reding

Viviane Reding (°1951 – Luxembourger) obtained a PhD degree (University Sorbonne, Paris) after which she acted as a professional journalist during twenty years. In 1999, having served ten years in the Luxembourg Parliament and ten years in the European Parliament, she became the European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport. In 2004, she became EU Commissioner for Information Society and Media. In that period, she was instrumental in the reform of the European telecom sector, opening the internal market to competition, as well as in the reform of the European research area, reinforcing the technological research platforms. In 2010, she became the first Vice-President and EU Commissioner responsible for Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship.

Viviane Reding joined the Agfa-Gevaert Board of Directors in 2015.